Cafe Medina: the Best Brunch in Vancouver

26Mar10

It was a rainy Sunday morning. Not the best morning to be walking around town to find a good place for brunch. But a good friend was visiting Vancouver that weekend and so I had to make sure that he gets the best gastronomic experience with me – even if it meant getting up before noon on a sunday and getting seriously wet.

We hopped from restaurant to restaurant, from yaletown to downtown, checking menu after menu. I was starving and soaked so I would have chosen to sit down and eat ANYWHERE, but not a single place got a unanimous vote from all four of us. Finally, someone said, “I hear Cafe Medina is really good.” The great UrbanSpoon agreed, and so off to Cafe Medina we went.

We headed down Beatty Street and found the cafe, but to my surprise, there was a line up. Yes, there was a line up of over a dozen people on this rainy Sunday morning when they could have had their pick of hundreds of other restaurants in downtown Vancouver instead of this small easy-to-miss-at-a-blink-of-the-eye cafe.

Photo Source: Cafe Medina website

We stood in line like die-hard fans waiting in the rain to get into a U2 concert. I love U2, but Bono annoys the hell out of me so if I had to wait in line to see the entire band, no thanks. Similarly, I love brunch but waiting in line for it is ridiculous! Fortunately, watching the chefs from outside the glass window – and getting a whiff of those delicious waffles – made the wait go much faster.

When our party was called in, we walked into the cafe’s chic yet comfortable brick-walled interior – which was a whole different atmosphere from its exterior. The atmosphere – the music, the lighting, the aroma and the smiles from the staff – immediately put me in a good mood.

Photo Source: Cafe Medina website

The space was much bigger than it looked from outside. We were led to another room through a hallway at the back of the building, where there were additional seating. I absolutely loved the brick walls, the big glass-framed piece of art, the sunlight through the big windows and the wooden floors. Very simple yet charming!

Now, let’s get to the best part – the food!

I started brunch with their specialty vanilla latte ($3.60 for an 80z cup). Easily better than Starbucks or most other lattes out there.

Next, I had a piece of their signature Belgian waffle ($3.15) and maple syrup ($1.50). Absolutely to die for!

For my main entree, I had the l’Omlette du Matin ($12). It is made with a selection of seasonal ingredients, and comes with a piece of grilled focaccia bread.

Another entree that I tried was called Les Boulettes, which was a Moroccan meatball dish with 2 poached eggs ($15). It came with a hummus, cucumber, tomato salad and grilled focaccia bread.

On the side, I had some roasted potatoes ($5) and bacon ($5), which was glazed with something so delicious.

This was absolutely the best brunch I have ever had in my entire life. And if my mother happens to stumble upon this blog and gets offended, I promise to take her there so she’ll know what I mean. Kudos to co-owner and chef, Nico Schuermans.

You can check out other menu items on their website www.medinacafe.com.

Cafe Medina
556 Beatty Street
Vancouver, BC
V6B 2L3

Disclaimer: No, I did not devour all of the above on my own. I shared!

6 Responses to “Cafe Medina: the Best Brunch in Vancouver”

  1. 1 Mike

    mmmm… I think I saw my omelet in one of those pictures. That place was really good 😀

  2. 2 O

    Great write-up girl!!! It was nice sharing brunch with you … See you soonest!

  3. Good post, gonna have to try this place. Checked out Wallflower on Main (nr Pulp Fiction) last Sunday and found brunch to be only so-so. Same with the brunch at Stella’s on Commercial.

    Also wanted to let you know we linked to the piece on our website, Guttersnipe, under ‘Further Matters’ (where we link to our daily web faves):

    http://www.guttersnipenews.com/

  4. 4 Benji

    You may not have devoured everything. But you sure made a valiant effort. 😉

  5. Thanks for all the great comments.

    @Shawnster, thanks for linking this piece to your website. Always appreciate it when people love what I read (and eat)!

  6. Great photos!! It all looks soooooo good!


Leave a Reply

