Sia ended show early in Vancouver

13Apr10

The Commodore Ballroom was packed last Saturday night for Sia‘s concert. I heard that the the eccentric Australian has a killer voice and a bouncy personality, so I was quite excited to see her live.

Her opening band Body Language, a group of 3 guys and a girl, started off the night with songs about “Sandwiches” and other things that I normally would not expect anybody to sing about. But they did, and they didn’t just sing it. They danced it… and that’s probably why they are called Body Language. I will have to dedicate an entire blog post about them later on. They were so good at working up the crowd that you can’t help but dance and almost forget that they were the opening band. I say “almost” because you can’t ever forget that it’s Sia’s show.

The stage was dressed, yes dressed, in quilts and colorful things that reminded us all that yes we were at Sia’s concert. She comes out on stage wearing a huge woolen dress, huge zebra-striped platforms and wings (which she later told us were made from the cover page of every self-help book that she’s read). She looked so gorgeous and ridiculous all at the same time, and I think that’s what we love about her (of course, aside from her amazing voice, her sexy accent and her funny I’m-just-going-to-act-like-myself personality).

Unfortunately, the gorgeous costume caused our Sia to overheat and feel like she was going to faint. The show ended after a few songs, but hey, I came to hear her killer voice and I heard it. Doesn’t matter if it’s 3 songs or 30, it was definitely worth it!

If you are  on Twitter, you should follow:
@siamusic
@body__language
@meowgarita

Photo Credits: See more photos from Sia’s concert at http://www.mrdavidthai.com/

One Response to “Sia ended show early in Vancouver”

  1. 1 Maricris

    kat! I love Sia too!!! Was she able to sing breathe me?


Leave a Reply

