Why do they call Mark Zuckerberg an Accidental Billionaire?

01Sep10

You don’t get to 500 million friends without making a few enemies.

This is the tagline for the upcoming movie The Social Network, a film about the youngest billionaire in history – Mark Zuckerberg. In 2003, Harvard graduate and computer programming genius Zuckerberg works on an idea that turns into global social network Facebook.

The movie is based on the book “The Accidental Billionaires” by Mezrich. I have not read the book, and obviously I have not seen the movie as it isn’t out in theatres yet. But I do want to know why Mark Zuckerberg famously falls under the category of Accidental Billionaires.

What is an accidental billionaire anyway? Is it someone who made billions by accident, as opposed to intentionally? Did he accidentally teach himself how to program? Did he accidentally get into Harvard? Did he accidentally work countless hours to develop, launch and run the world’s largest social networking site today?

I wonder what this accidental billionaire must be thinking. Whoops, I accidentally spilled my coffee. Whoops, I accidentally wrote a code for a website. Whoops, I accidentally called it Facebook. Whoops, I accidentally made myself worth $4B.

Whoops.

Photo taken from the official site of The Social Network.

No Responses Yet to “Why do they call Mark Zuckerberg an Accidental Billionaire?”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

