Exposing My Dirty Little Secret

01Dec10

Okay, here it is. My dirty little secret is that I am obsessed with “Dirty Laundry.”

No, I don’t mean dirty underwear. I’m referring to this charming little vineyard that I discovered during a recent trip to the Okanagan Valley. Behind its name is an interesting story that started during the gold rush era in the 1800’s, when fur traders, gold miners and railway workers settled in the valley. One Chinese railway worker, I forget his name but I am pretty sure his name was Sam, fled the terrible working conditions of the railway construction and started a business – a laundry business. It seemed innocent enough, but little did anyone know that Sam had expanded to include a brother on the second floor!!!

Sam’s business became later called across town as “The Dirty Laundry.” Today, Sam’s business is long gone and replaced by this beautiful vineyard, which became named after this little piece of Summerland history.

I had a lot of fun learning about the name, and I’m pretty sure the business owners had a lot of fun with their marketing and branding. The logo, for example, is that of a steam iron. Again, it looks innocent enough, but if you look closely at the steam coming out, you will see shapes of women – 14 in total.

Each wine represents a lady, as suggested by the following clever wine names:

  • Naughty Chardonnay
  • Not so Knotty Chardonnay
  • Hush – a complicated, evasive woman that will keep you “blushing”
  • Merlot – a dark, mysterious and alluring woman that reminds you of dark cherry, wild berries and chocolate
  • Bordello – a full bodied and provocative woman representing an exotic swirl of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Cabernet Franc
  • A new port called “Girl in Every Port”
  • A new ice wine called “Whore Frost”

They most definitely had a lot of fun with the packaging as well.

This is the bordello. The bottle comes with a magnifying glass for you and I to see the tiny women, corsets and boots on its passion red label.

This is the hush, which comes in a pink bottle designed with naughty quotes forming the shape of steam. One of them by Zsa Zsa Gabor, “How many husbands have I had? You mean apart from my own?”

Finally, this is the concept for their new ice wine, called “Whore Frost” – a play on hoar frost, which is frozen dew that forms beautiful white crystals on EVERYTHING during winter.

I loved their wines, even the Merlot which I am not usually fond of. They flirted with my taste buds and made me crave for more. I ended the tour with a purchase that would fill my wine fridge and last me quite a while. I’m not sure if I am more seduced by the marketing genius behind this little vineyard more so than their wines.

So there it is… my dirty little secret. Perhaps it’s best that we keep this hush hush.

 

Photo Credit: http://www.dirtylaundry.ca

2 Responses to “Exposing My Dirty Little Secret”

  1. I would buy those wines…even just for the bottle. HAHAHA!

    Hi Kat! 🙂

  2. Kat!!!! I want to go there! It’s so naughty 🙂 It would be cool to get drunk there. hahaha! We should definitely get drunk before you get married pleaseeeeeee – Maricris


Leave a Reply

