Famous Last Words: “I can ROCK this skiing business!”

19Dec10

In 2007, I had my first winter ever. My boyfriend excitedly took me skiing with his family in Fernie over the Christmas Holidays. While these people are all experienced black diamond skiers who’ve done it since they were three years old, I have never skied before. Heck, I did not even know how to walk on snow. But always the positive thinker, I thought, “I can rock this skiing business!”

Remind me to never ever again make statements like that out loud. At the time, I did not think it was an ambitious nor bold statement to make. But at the time, I had no idea that:

…skis slide (For some reason, I thought there was a go-stop button that I could press anytime I pleased.)

…skis slide BACKWARDS too!

…that I could not wear jeans on the ski hill. I had to borrow ski pants from my boyfriend, which were slightly too big for me that I had to duct tape them around my waist.

…that it’s nearly impossible to go on a bathroom break if you duct taped your ski pants around your waist.

…that I would be the only person in the bunny hill taller than 3 feet.

…that I should  not have picked the Australian ski instructor. He was hot but I could not understand a word he was yelling at me as I flew down the hill at a speed of 120 km per hour.

…that snow can look deceivingly soft.

Now it’s that time of year again. I’m cramming for some “training” time to get into shape for holidays with the soon-to-be in-laws. No bold statements this time. Wish me luck!

No Responses Yet to “Famous Last Words: “I can ROCK this skiing business!””

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

